Welcome to Cloud 649

1 Mar

Over the past few months you may have seen these Lotto 649 Spots, ‘Sailboat’ and ‘Fly Fishing’. The newest spot titled ‘Motorcycle‘ aired last week. This campaign is not about the trips, the cars, or the cash but a carefree, euphoric existence enabled by Lotto 649 both in the moment of winning and every moment that comes after it. Luis Gerard directed these ethereal spots created by the team over at MacLaren McCann Toronto. We sat down with Luis to talk about this experience.

See the Campaign here

Credits here

What were some memorable experiences when filming Lotto 649

Since I had never filmed in Vancouver, it was a great experience to be able to see the landscape and scenery from above in the helicopter. We shot in the Lower Seymour Conservation forest in Northern Vancouver, the Cheakamus River, Squamish and on the Salish Sea, the agency and I had a hard time picking locations since there was a lot to choose from.

What did you think of the boards?

I liked how they wanted to juxtapose the past with the present or possible future. I thought it could be really interesting to have that contrast of poetic magical realism against the emotion and energy associated with winning the lottery, as heard in the voice-overs.

What would you do if you won lotto 649?

If I won the lottery I would continue to direct, of course things would change but I wouldn’t retire or change my career. It would be good to have the money but I prefer being productive and making a living.

What are your influences?

My influences are all over the place. I like so many different directors, today I like Terrence Malick, Stanley Kubrick, Alfred Hitchcock, but tomorrow I will choose someone else.

I am very conscious that there are so many commercial references out there that we see everyday, I try not to use them. I mean it depends on the job, but for the most part if I’m doing a commercial I don’t like going through others work and using it. Feels like I am just copying, I want the ideas to be original.

What’s your dream board?

I have been blessed with the opportunity of doing very different kinds of films; very simple comedy like Stride, cinematic or epic like Ponds. I have shot comedies and thrillers, sometimes both like Trident Sniper. I have done simple visuals vignettes and more emotional storytelling, along with visual storytelling, which I think I like shooting the most. The one thing I have not done that I would love to do however would be to direct a Nike spot.

 

One Response to “Welcome to Cloud 649”

  1. david bruce gammie February 19, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Although technically flawless, and wonderfully shot, I personally hate the commercials. They make me want to throw something soft and nerf-like at the TV, thus registering my annoyance without causing damage…Everybody I know feels like that. I know a lot of people.
    You market it likes it’s a possibility, not an improbability…As though it’s a life style option we’re nuts not to rush and embrace…And yes, I throw away my money on lotto tickets like everyone else. I know it’s a long shot. I don’t need to be insulted at the same time. Thought you might like to know. Incidentally, I have spent over 2 decades as a performer and/or film crew member, so I have some small experience.
    Try using some humour to sell these things. That would help.
    By the way, if you created 50 millionaires instead of one 50 million person every time the lotto hit that number, you’d actually be helping the economy…Wouldn’t take long for everyone to at least know someone with cash.
    DBG

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

